A guide to local government services and Ann Arbor’s lively political scene. (Maps)


Accounting: A2OpenBook

(734) 794-6500, ext. 45204

301 E. Huron, Larcom City Hall, 5th floor

This division of the finance unit oversees the city’s accounting, auditing, payroll, and grant services, and provides citizens with clear information on the city’s financial condition. Budget information is online at A2OpenBook,


(734) 222-3401

220 N. Main

Appointed by the board of commissioners, county administrator Gregory Dill is responsible for the overall management of county departments, agencies, and offices.

Ann Arbor Farmers Market

(734) 794-6255

315 Detroit

This open-air market in the Kerrytown district has 120 vendors selling local produce, herbs, flowers, plants, meat, eggs, cheese, honey, jam, coffee, specialty foods, baked goods, artisan products, and more. Open year-round, May-Dec. Wed. & Sat. 7 a.m.-3 p.m.; Jan.-Apr. Sat. 8 a.m.-3 p.m. During Covid-19: The market has adopted a one-way traffic pattern and other measures to assist in social distancing, and is providing hand washing stations. Select vendors are also offering pre-order with curbside or walk-in pick-up from 8 a.m.-noon. See website for pre-order directory.

Ann Arbor Fire Department

Emergency: call 911. Nonemergency, (734) 794-6961

Station 1, 111 N. Fifth Ave.

Led by Fire Chief Mike Kennedy, the fire department provides a broad range of emergency services to the community, including fire suppression, vehicle accident extrication, medical assistance, and water and ice rescue, and plays a large part in Washtenaw County’s Hazardous Material and Technical Rescue teams. The department also provides fire prevention services, conducts fire-safety inspections, oversees fire-related permits, and investigates fires.,

Ann Arbor Police Department

301 E. Huron, Justice Center, 2nd floor

Emergency: call 911. To file a nonemergency alert, call (734) 794–6920. For nonemergency requests for service, call (734) 994-2911 (24 hours).,

Chief of Police Michael Cox leads the city’s police department, which functions 24 hrs. a day, seven days a week.

Community Standards: (734) 794-6942. Handles complaints about “clean communities” violations such as overgrown grass, vegetation obstructing the use of a public sidewalk, signs in public right-of-ways, snow/ice on the sidewalks, and sidewalk cafe issues.

Crime prevention and Neighborhood Watch: (734) 794-6933.

Lost & found: Police desk, Justice Center, 2nd floor, (734) 794-6920.


(734) 794-6530

301 E. Huron, Larcom City Hall, 5th floor

This division of the finance unit determines the assessed and taxable value of all property for property tax purposes. The office keeps assessment and ownership records of properties online at

Property owners who disagree with their annual assessments may appeal to a city council-appointed board of review. This three-member board may also grant a poverty exemption, which must be renewed annually, to homeowners who meet specific income levels and other requirements.


(734) 794-6170

301 E. Huron, Larcom City Hall, 3rd floor

City attorney Stephen Postema and his staff provide legal advice to the city council and city officials; prepare legal documents; represent the city and its officials in lawsuits and labor matters; and prosecute violations of city ordinances. The city attorney does not provide legal advice to citizens.

Barton Hills Village

(734) 222-5209. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency Sheriff’s Dept.: (734) 971-8400

199 Barton Shore

Office hours: Mon.-Thurs. 8:30-1:30 p.m., and by appointment. Village officials: president Carla Smith; clerk Chris Conlin; treasurer Linda Benson; trustees Riad Al-Awar, Andrea Darden, Mostafa Haitam, Robert Hensinger, Howard Holmes II, Sharon Popp. Board of trustees meets on the 2nd Mon. 6 p.m. Planning Commission March, June, Sept., Dec. 1st Tues. 6 p.m. During Covid-19: All meetings by teleconference.,

Board of Commissioners

(734) 222-6850

220 N. Main

The chief policy-making body of county government, the board has 9 members, elected to 2-year terms. As of June 2021, commissioners are Jason Maciejewski (District 1;, Sue Shink (District 2;, Shannon Beeman (District 3;, Caroline Sanders (District 4;, Justin Hodge (District 5;, Ricky Jefferson (District 6;, Andy LaBarre (District 7;, Jason Morgan (District 8;, and Katie Scott (District 9;

For a map of commission districts, visit

Commissioners’ duties include adopting countywide ordinances, overseeing county operations and facilities, adopting the annual budget, (including all county departments), and making appointments to boards, committees, and commissions.

The board of commissioners meets 1st & 3rd Wed. 6:45 p.m., preceded by a Ways and Means committee meeting at 6:30 p.m. Working sessions 1st & 3rd Thurs. 6:30 p.m. All meetings at 220 N. Main; call (734) 222-6850 to confirm times. Meetings are broadcast live online at

Boards & Commissions

The city has 34 citizen boards, commissions, and committees. Go to for full list with descriptions, vacancies, and an application form, or call the mayor’s office at (734) 794-6161.