Dexter – Government


Dexter Government

For county and state officials, see the City Guide Government section.

City Offices, 3515 Broad, (734) 426–8303,

City Manager and City Clerk: Justin Breyer (734) 5802234,

Mayor and City Council. (734) 426–8303. A 7-member city council (including the mayor) governs the city, serving staggered 4-year terms and elected on an at-large, nonpartisan basis. The council meets 2nd & 4th Mon. 7 p.m. in person and on Zoom. Mayor Shawn Keough, term expires Nov. 2026 ( Mayor pro tem: Joseph Semifero, term expires Nov. 2026 ( Council members: Sanam Aldag, term expires Nov. 2026 ( Jamie Griffin, term expires Nov. 2024 ( Wa-Louisa Hubbard, term expires Nov. 2024 ( Zach Michels, term expires Nov. 2024 ( Daniel Schlaff, term expires Nov. 2026 ( City elections are the day after the 1st Mon. in Nov. of even-numbered years. Residents may register to vote at the city office at 3515 Broad St., at Michigan Secretary of State offices (the nearest are at 1113 S. Main in Chelsea and Maple Village shopping center in Ann Arbor), or online at

Planning Commission. Matt Kowalski chairs this 9-member commission appointed by the city council. The commission reviews site plans on development proposals and holds public hearings on zoning ordinance amendments and special land use applications. Meets 1st Mon. 7 p.m. on Zoom.

Parks & Recreation Commission. Becky Murillo chairs this 9-member commission appointed by the city council. Meets 3rd Tues. 7 p.m. in person and on Zoom.

Dexter Downtown Development Authority. Governed by an 11-member board chaired by Doug Finn, the DDA promotes the economic development of Dexter’s downtown business district. Meets 3rd Thurs. 7:30 a.m. at 3515 Broad St. in person and on Zoom.

Dexter Economic Development Corporation. Led by Jim Carson, this 7-member board assists the city in attracting and retaining businesses, primarily in the Dexter Business and Research Park, to strengthen and revitalize the local economy. Meets as needed.

Dexter Area Fire Department: (734) 4264500
Washtenaw County Sheriff: (734) 9942911
For police, fire, and medical emergencies, dial 911.