The beautifully restored Chelsea Depot, 125 Jackson Rd., is used for concerts and private gatherings. On The Tracks, a music and songwriting showcase, happens first Wed., Sept.-May (onthetrackschelsea.com). For rental information, call (734) 475-0862. chelseadepot.com. For the Chelsea Depot Association, see Groups & Clubs below.
Chelsea’s most visible landmark, the Clock Tower, was built in 1907 as a water tower by the Glazier Stove Company. It’s been converted into offices and retail space with additional renovated buildings from the factory complex around a courtyard where community events are held.
Across the street, at 201 W. North St., is the home of one of the nation’s most resilient family companies. In 1878, the Chelsea Milling Company began milling wheat and corn from surrounding farms. In 1930 it introduced Jiffy biscuit mix, the first of its present line of 14 mixes. jiffymix.com
Chelsea District Library, 221 S. Main. (734) 475-8732. This district library, once the McKune Memorial Library, incorporates the original historic McKune House and serves over 16,000 residents in the city of Chelsea; Lyndon and Sylvan township, and parts of Dexter and Lima townships. CDL offers books, audiobooks, e-books, CDs, DVDs, magazines, digital magazines, internet access, and public computer stations. The library also has a collection of technology and crafting equipment and the Ingenuity Engine, a newly created makerspace. The public can also enjoy adult and youth programs and classes, weekly storytimes, nationally touring art exhibitions (art.chelseadistrictlibrary.org), and more hosted in the McKune Room. Mon.-Thurs. 9 a.m.-8 p.m., Fri. 10 a.m.-6 p.m., Sat. 10 a.m.-3 p.m., Sun. 1-5 p.m. chelseadistrictlibrary.org
Oak Grove Cemetery, Middle at Madison, was established in 1860. The names of many of Chelsea’s first families are among the markers on the 23-acre burial ground. Beyond the stately fieldstone towers at its entrance, the paths of this historic cemetery invite bucolic, meditative walks.