Ann Arbor Weather:
Monday October 25, 2021
Follow us: facebook twitter RSS feed
>> AnnArborObserver.com >> City Guide >> Government >> Township and Village Governments

City Guide

Township and Village Governments

View our map of township and village governments near Ann Arbor >>


Bookmark and Share

One village and portions of several neighboring townships are served by the Ann Arbor post office and/or the Ann Arbor Public Schools.

Ann Arbor Charter Township

3792 Pontiac Tr [map]
(734) 663-3418. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency sheriff's dept.: (734) 994-2911. Nonemergency fire: (734) 663-0995 (Pontiac Tr. station) or (734) 741-5900 (Goss Rd. station)

Township officials: supervisor Diane O'Connell (D), (734) 663-7303 (supervisor@aatwp.org); clerk Rena Basch (D), (734) 663-3418 ext. 108 (basch@aatwp.org); treasurer Della DiPietro (R), (734) 663-3418 ext. 107 (dipietro@aatwp.org); trustees John Allison (D), Michael Moran (D), Kris Olsson (D), Rodney Smith (D). Other services: assessor, (734) 663-8540; building dept., (734) 663-1855; rubbish/recyclables collection Republic Waste Services (877) 264-5544; and utilities, Rick Judkins, (734) 663-8292. Township board meets third Mon. 7:30 p.m. Planning commission meets first Mon. 7:30 p.m. contact@aatwp.org, aatwp.org


Barton Hills Village

199 Barton Shore [map]
(734) 222-5209. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency Sheriff's Dept.: (734) 971-8400

Office hours: Mon.-Thurs. 8:30-1:30 p.m., and by appointment. Village officials: president Carla Smith; clerk Chris Conlin; treasurer Linda Benson; trustees Riad Al-Awar, Andrea Darden, Mostafa Haitam, Robert Hensinger, Howard Holmes II, Sharon Popp. Board of trustees meets on the 2nd Mon. 6 p.m. Planning Commission March, June, Sept., Dec. 1st Tues. 6 p.m. During Covid-19: All meetings by teleconference. bhvclerk@bartonhillsvillage.org, bartonhillsvillage.org


Bridgewater Township

10990 Clinton, Manchester 48158 [map]
(517) 456-7728. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency sheriff's dept.: (734) 971-8400. Nonemergency fire: (734) 428-9439 (Manchester), (517) 456-4371 (Clinton)

Call or check website for office hours. Township officials: supervisor Laurie Fromhart (R), (734) 223-2766 (bridgewatertwpsupervisor@yahoo.com); clerk Michelle McQueer (R), (517) 315-7545 (bridgewatertwpclerk@yahoo.com); treasurer Amy Ahrens (R), (734) 678-9837 (bridgewatertwptreasurer@yahoo.com); trustees David Faust (R), Geoffrey Oliver (R). Other services: assessor: Mary Rider, (517) 980-6819 (bridgewatertwpassessor@yahoo.com); zoning administrator: Rodney Nanney, (734) 483-2271 (rodney@buildingplace.net). Township board meets 1st Thurs. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 3rd Mon. 7 p.m. twp-bridgewater.org


Dexter Township

6880 Dexter-Pinckney, Dexter 48130 [map]
(734) 426-3767. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency police: (734) 971-8400. Nonemergency fire: (734) 426-4500

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Township officials: supervisor Diane Ratkovich (D), (supervisor@dextertownship.org); clerk Michelle Stamboulellis (D), (clerk@dextertownship.org); treasurer Maris Metz (D), (treasurer@dextertownship.org); trustees Karen Sikkenga (D), Karen Nolte (D), Laura Sanders (D), and James Drolette (R). Township board meets 3rd Tues. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 4th Tues. 7 p.m. dextertownship.org


Freedom Township

11508 Pleasant Lake, Manchester [map]
(734) 428-7545. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency police: (734) 475-7207. Nonemergency fire: (734) 428-9439

Office open by appointment. Township officials: supervisor Larry Lindemann (R), (734) 428-7545 ext. 1 (llinde0922@aol.com); clerk Valisa Bristle (R), (734) 428-7545 ext. 2 (vlbristle@yahoo.com); treasurer Rudy Layher (R), (734) 428-7545 ext. 3 (layherfarms@reagan.com); trustees Dennis Huehl (R), (734) 260-4454 (huehl.acres@plantpioneer.com); Dan Schaible (R), (734) 545-2615 (d.schaible@hotmail.com). Other services: zoning administrator Jim Coval, (734) 216-7041 (jimcovalconstruction@gmail.com). Township board meets 2nd Tues. 8 p.m. Planning commission meets 1st Tues. 7:30 p.m. twp-freedom.org


Lima Township

Township hall: 11452 Jackson, Dexter. Office: 12172 Jackson, Dexter, P.O. Box 59 Chelsea, 48118
(734) 475-2246

Office hours: Mon., Wed., & Thurs. 9 a.m.-noon. Township officials: supervisor Duane Luick (R), dluick@twp-lima.org; clerk Elaine Bater (R), ebater@twp-lima.org; treasurer Nanette Havens (R), irs107@hotmail.com; trustees Greg McKenzie (R), gregmckenzie476@gmail.com; Dale Luick (R), dluick01@yahoo.com. Township board meets 2nd Mon. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 4th Mon. 7 p.m. twp-lima.org


Lodi Township

3755 Pleasant Lake [map]
(734) 665-7583. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency fire: (734) 429-4440

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 8:30 a.m.-noon. Township officials: supervisor Jan Godek (R), jan@loditownshipmi.org; clerk Christina Smith (R), christina@loditownshipmi.org; treasurer Michelle Foley (R), michelle@loditownshipmi.org; trustees Craig Swenson (R), swenson@loditownshipmi.org; William Lindemann (R), lindermann@loditownshipmi.org; Donald Rentschler (R), rentschler@loditownshipmi.org; Jacob Schaible (R), schaible, schailbe@loditownshipmi.org. Other services: assessor Stephanie Renius (734) 665-7583 ext. 205, and zoning compliance officer William Lindemann (734) 320-4421. Township board meets 1st Tues. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 4th Tues. 7 p.m. loditownshipmi.org


Lyndon Township

17751 North Territorial, Chelsea 48118 [map]
(734) 475-2401. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency police: (734) 475-1771. Nonemergency fire: (734) 475-8755

Office hours: Tues.-Thurs. 9 a.m.-noon, and by appointment. Township officials: supervisor Pam Byrnes (D), lyndontownshipsupervisor@gmail.com; clerk Linda Reilly (D), clerkatlyndon@gmail.com; treasurer Kristen Brekke (D), treasurer.lyndon@gmail.com; trustees Tim Eder (D), timeder138@gmail.com; Robert Mester (D), trusteemester@yahoo.com Township board meets 2nd Tues. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets last Thurs. 7 p.m. twp-lyndon.org


Manchester Township

275 S. Macomb, Manchester 48158 [map]
(734) 428-7090. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency fire: (734) 428-9439

Office hours: Mon.-Wed. & Fri. 8:30 a.m.-noon. Township officials: supervisor Ron Milkey (R), rmilkey@twp-manchester.org; clerk Danell Proctor (R) (mtwp_clerk@sbcglobal.net); treasurer Kim Thompson (R), kthompson@twp-manchester.org; trustees John Seefeld (D), jseefeld@yahoo.com; Krista Jarvis (I), kjarvis02@hotmail.com; Lisa Moutinho (R), lisamoutinho@gmail.com; and Mike Fusilier (R), kmfusilier@aol.com. Township board meets 2nd Tues. 7:00 p.m. Planning commission meets 1st Thurs. 8 p.m. twp-manchester.org


Northfield Township

8350 Main, #A, Whitmore Lake 48189 [map]
(734) 449-2880. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency police: (734) 449-9911. Nonemergency fire: (734) 449-2385

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m (closed for lunch 1-1:30 p.m.). Township manager: Steven Aynes, (734) 449-2880, ext. 12 (ayness@northfieldmi.gov). Township officials: supervisor Kenneth Dignan III (R), (734) 449-2880, ext. 15 (dignank@northfieldmi.gov); clerk Kathy Manley (R), (734) 449-2880, ext. 22 (manleyk@northfieldmi.gov); treasurer Lenore Zelenock (R), ext. 21 (zelenockl@northfieldmi.gov); trustees Jacki Otto (R), ottoj@northfieldmi.gov; Janet Chick (R), chickj@northfieldmi.gov; Nathan Muchow (R), muchown@northfieldmi.gov; Joshua Nelson (R), nelsonj@northfieldj.gov. Township board meets 2nd and 4th Tues. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 1st and 3rd Wed., 2nd floor, Public Safety Bldg., 8350 Main, Whitmore Lake. twp-northfield.org


Pittsfield Charter Township

6201 W. Michigan [map]
(734) 822-3101. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency police and fire: (734) 822-4911. After-hours utilities emergencies: (734) 822-2107

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Township officials: supervisor Mandy Grewal (D), (734) 822-3135 (supervisor@pittsfield-mi.gov); clerk Michelle L. Anzaldi (D), (734) 822-3120 (clerk@pittsfield-mi.gov); Treasurer Patricia Tupacz Scribner (D), (734) 822-3140 (treasurer@pittsfield-mi.gov); trustees Linda G. Edwards-Brown (D), Yameen Jaffer (D), Gerald Krone (D), Andrea Urda-Thompson (D). Other services: Assessing, (734) 822-3115; Building Department, (734) 822-3125; Community Development, (734) 822-3135; Parks & Recreation, (734) 822-2120; Utilities Customer Service (water, sewer & rubbish), (734) 822-3105. Township Board meets 2nd and 4th Wed. 6:30 p.m. Planning commission meets 1st and 3rd Thurs. 6:30 p.m. info@pittsfield-mi.gov, pittsfield-mi.gov


Salem Township

9600 Six Mile, Salem 48175 [map]
(248) 349-1690. Nonemergency police: (734) 971-8400. Nonemergency fire: (248) 349-1690 ext. 7

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Township officials: supervisor Gary Whittaker (R) (gary@salem-mi.org); clerk Del Wensley (R) (dwensley@salem-mi.org); treasurer Bruce Reeve (R) (treasurer@salem-mi.org); trustees John Daniel (R)(john@salem-mi.org), TJ McLaughlin (R) (tj@salem-mi.org), Reggie DeLuca (R) (reggie@salem-mi.org), David Trent (R) (david@salem-mi.org). Township board meets 2nd Tues. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 3rd Mon. 7:30 p.m. info@salem-mi.org, www.salem-mi.org


Saline Township


Nonemergency police: (734) 971-8400 Nonemergency fire: (734) 429-7911

Contact an official directly for appointments. Township officials: supervisor James Marion (R), (734) 429-5155; clerk Kelly Marion (R), (734) 429-9968; treasurer Jennifer Zink, (734) 645-4168; trustees Robert Marion (R), Tom Hammond. Township board meets 2nd Wed., 7:00 p.m. Planning commission meets 1st Tues. alternating months, 7:00 p.m. salinetownship@gmail.com, salinetownship.org


Scio Township

827 N. Zeeb [map]
(734) 369-9400. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency police and fire: (734) 665-6001

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Township officials: supervisor Will Hathaway(D) (whathaway@sciotownship.org); clerk Jessica Flintoft (D); treasurer Donna Palmer (D) (depalmer@sciotownship.org); trustees Kathleen P. Knol (D), Jackie Courteau(D), Alec Jerome (D), Jane Vogel (D). Other services: assessor, development authority, planning commission, utilities (734) 369-9350, zoning offices. Township board meets 2nd & 4th Tues. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 2nd & 4th Mon. 7 p.m. Zoning board of appeals meets 3rd Thurs. 7 p.m. sciotownship.org


Sharon Township

18010 Pleasant Lake, Manchester 48158 [map]
(734) 428-7591

Office hours: Mon. 6-7 p.m. & Thurs.-Fri. 9 a.m.-noon. Township officials: supervisor Peter Psarouthakis (R), (734) 320-9240 (sharonsupervisor@gmail.com); clerk Kimberley Potocki (R), (734),428-7591 (sharontownshipclerk@gmail.com); treasurer Brian Brickley (I), (734) 428-7591 (brian@brianbrickley.com); trustees Trudi Cooper (I), (734) 428-9217 (TrusteeTrudi@gmail.com); Chelsea Mikel (R), (248) 910-5527 (mikel.chelsea@gmail.com). Township board meets 1st Tues. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 2nd Thurs. 7 p.m. sharontownship.org


Superior Charter Township

3040 N. Prospect, Ypsilanti [map]
(734) 482-6099. Police and Fire: call 911. Nonemergency police: (734) 971-8400. Nonemergency fire: (734) 484-1996

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Township officials: supervisor Kenneth Schwartz (D) (kenschwartz@superior-twp.org); clerk Lynette Findley (D) (lynettefindley@superior-twp.org); treasurer Brenda McKinney (D) (brendamckinney@superior-twp.org); trustees Nancy Caviston (D), Rhonda McGill (D), Lisa Lewis (D), Bernice Lindke (D). Township board meets 3rd Mon. 7:00 p.m. Planning commission meets 4th Wed. 7:30 p.m. Park commission meets 4th Mon. 6:30 p.m. superiortownship.org


Sylvan Township

18027 Old US-12, Chelsea 48118 [map]
(734) 475-8890

Office hours: Mon.-Thurs. 9 a.m.-noon. Township officials: Supervisor Kathleen Kennedy, (kkennedy@sylvan-township.org); Clerk Amanda Nimke Ballard, (animkeballard@sylvan-township.org); treasurer Rodney J. Branham, (rbranham@sylvan-township.org); trustees Sandie Schulze,(sschulze@sylvan-township.org); Kurt Koseck, (kkoseck@sylvan-township.org. Township board meets 1st Tues. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 4th Thurs. 7 p.m. sylvan-township.org


Webster Township

5665 Webster Church, Dexter 48130 [map]
(734) 426-5103. Police and fire: call 911. Nonemergency police: (734) 971-8400. Nonemergency fire: (734) 426-4500

Office hours: Mon.-Thurs. 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Township officials: supervisor John Kingsley (R) (jkingsley@twp.webster.mi.us); clerk Barbara Calleja (R) (bcalleja@twp.webster.mi.us); treasurer John Scharf (jscharf@twp.webster.mi.us); trustees Dan Munzel (dmunzel@webstermi.us), John Westman (jwestman@webstermi.us), Jeff Harms (jharms@webstermi.us), Shelly Vrsek (svrsek@webstermi.us). Other services: assessor, property inspector, planning commission, and zoning office. Township board meets 3rd Tues. 7:00 p.m. Planning commission meets 3rd Wed. 7 p.m. twp.webster.mi.us


York Township

11560 Stony Creek, Milan 48160 [map]
(734) 439-8842. Nonemergency police: (734) 994-2911. Nonemergency fire: (734) 429-4440 (Saline Area Fire Department) or (734) 439-2843 (Milan Area Fire Department)

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 9 a.m.-noon; building department extended hours Mon. 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Township officials: supervisor Chuck Tellas (R); clerk Mitch Gasche (R); treasurer Sally Louis (R); trustees John Hargrove (R), Derek Stern (R), Sean Gleason (R), Jason McGovern (R). Township board meets 2nd Tues. 7:30 p.m. Planning commission meets 2nd Mon. 7:30 p.m. yorkinfo@twp-york.org, twp-york.org


Ypsilanti Township

7200 S. Huron River [map]
(734) 484-4700. Nonemergency police: (734) 484-6740. Nonemergency fire: (734) 544-4225. Utility emergency, Ypsilanti Community Utilities Authority: (734) 484-4600

Office hours: Mon.-Fri. 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., closed noon-1 p.m. for lunch. Township officials: supervisor Brenda L. Stumbo (D), (734) 481-061;, clerk Karen Lovejoy Roe (D), (734) 484-4700; treasurer Stan Eldridge (D); trustees Jimmie Wilson Jr., John P. Newman II, Gloria Peterson, Debbie Swanson. Other services: assessing (734) 487-4927; building, planning & ordinance (734) 485-3943; residential services (734) 484-0073; and recreation (734) 544-3800. Township board 1st & 3rd Tues. of each month. 7 p.m. Planning commission meets 2nd & 4th Tues. 6:30 p.m. Park commission meets 1st Mon. 6:30 p.m. ytown.org




You might also like:

To Mask or Not to Mask
On Main St., a split verdict
Eve Silberman
Hobbies in Chelsea
The II-V-I Orchestra
Big Band Bowling at Bel-Mark Lanes
arwulf arwulf
My Neighborhood: Lawton
Pittsfield builds a mini-downtown
Cynthia Furlong Reynolds
Nightspots: Live
Health Care - Health Information and Physician Referral
Dixboro House Tests Its Wings with Prepaid Dinners
But nightly service won't happen anytime soon.
Micheline Maynard
Today's Events
Back to School 2021
The public schools and the U-M are fully reopening. What will that look like-and will it be safe?
James Leonard and Jan Schlain
Afghans Arrive
JFS is on the case
Eve Silberman
a2view the Ann Arbor Observer's weekly email newsletter