A quick look at some of the more unusual city ordinances. To read the complete city code, visit the city clerk's website or office, or look online at municode.com (click on "municode library," then choose Michigan, then Ann Arbor).
Residents of the City of Ann Arbor may apply for a permit to keep up to 4 chickens (but no roosters), based on a number of conditions and restrictions. Permits are $20, are good for 5 years, and are issued only if the applicant's adjacent residential neighbors provide written consent. Chickens must be kept in a backyard, within a fenced enclosure at all times, and must be provided with a covered enclosure. Enclosures and feed must be maintained so as not to attract or harbor rats, mice, or other rodents. Permit forms are available online at a2gov.org, or at the City Clerk's office.
At crosswalks without traffic lights, drivers must stop for pedestrians stopped at the curb, at the curb ramp, or within a crosswalk. It is illegal to pass another vehicle stopped at a crosswalk, or to drive "in such manner as to splash snow, rain, water, mud, dirt, or debris" onto pedestrians on sidewalks or crosswalks.
Ann Arbor's domestic violence law requires police to arrest a person "when the officer has reasonable cause to believe that person has, within the previous 24 hours, assaulted a spouse, former spouse, or other person residing or having resided in the same household, if the victim has visible signs of injury from the assault or if the assailant used or threatened to use a dangerous weapon." An arrest can be made even without the victim wanting to prosecute.
Landlords and tenants
By law, landlords must give their tenants the city-produced booklet Rights and Duties of Tenants or face fines of up to $500. The booklet is available at the city clerk's office. One booklet per rental unit is available free of charge to landlords and tenants.
- Michigan Clinical Law Program (U-M Law School)
- Michigan Tenant Counseling Program
- Central Ann Arbor Apartments
- Outer Ann Arbor Apartments
The owner of every parcel of land is responsible for "grading, planting, mowing, and raking the extension or city street right-of-way so that it is covered with turf grass with an average height not in excess of 12 inches or other ground cover vegetation with an average height not more than 36 inches above the adjacent road surface"-unless the vegetation presents a view hazard based on the criteria of AASHTO (American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials). On private property no turf grass taller than 12 inches is permitted.
No one "shall consume liquor on the public streets, in a public parking lot" or in any business not licensed for on-premise liquor consumption. Approved events with outdoor liquor sales are exempt.
Under the City Charter, possession of small amounts of marijuana is a civil infraction carrying a penalty of $25 for the first offense, $50 for second offense, and $100 for third offense. Additional court costs and fees may be added. The City recognizes the use of small amounts of marijuana for medical purposes as a reasonable defense, which may result in penalties being dropped. In practice, the city court usually chooses between enforcing its own law or the state law on the basis of the amount of marijuana found. State law makes possession of the drug (except for medical purposes) a criminal offense, possibly punishable by jail time of up to one year and a fine of up to $1,000. The Michigan Medical Marijuana law, passed in November 2008, protects medical marijuana patients from prosecution under state law, but federal law still classifies marijuana as a narcotic, and federal agents continue to arrest and prosecute those who cultivate or sell it. The U-M police force and county sheriff's deputies follow the state law.
No roller skates, sleds, coasting wagons, toy vehicles, or similar devices are allowed on streets, except to cross them on a crosswalk. Bikes on the roads between a half-hour after sunset and an hour before sunrise must use headlights and have rear reflectors, and "every bicycle shall be equipped with at least one effective brake."
Owners must have their dogs under "reasonable control" - that is, leashed or confined - at all times. Licensing in the City of Ann Arbor $16 for a 2-year cycle. Current cycle ends June 2016. Washtenaw County residents pay $6 per year or $15 for 3 years. They are also required to clean up after their dogs on both public and private property. Owners of all pets must provide proper food, drink, and shelter from the weather for their animals, as well as the medical attention necessary to prevent the animals from suffering. Animals may not be left confined without adequate ventilation.