Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast
Thursday May 26, 2016
Follow us: facebook twitter RSS feed
>> >> City Guide >> Government >> Washtenaw County Government

City Guide

Washtenaw County Government

Washtenaw County, one of the first counties in Michigan, was established in 1822 and fully organized by 1827. An agent of the state government, it carries out the responsibilities of the state, but it also has independent executive and, in a few cases, legislative powers.

The county's general information line is (734) 222-4357. Mailing address: P.O. Box 8645, Ann Arbor 48107. Contact via email form on website:

Related Topics:


220 N. Main [map]
(734) 222-6850. Fax: (734) 222-6715

Appointed by the board of commissioners, the county administrator is responsible for the overall management of county departments, agencies, and offices.

Board of Commissioners

220 N. Main [map]
(734) 222-6850. Fax: (734) 222-6715

The chief policy-making body of county government, the board has 9 members, elected to 2-year terms. Commissioners are Kent Martinez-Kratz (district 1;, Dan Smith (district 2;, Alicia Ping (district 3;, Felicia Brabec (district 4;, Ruth Ann Jamnick (district 5;, Ronnie Peterson (district 6;, Andy LaBarre (district 7;, Yousef Rabhi (district 8;, and Conan Smith (district 9;

For a map of the districts, visit Commissioners' duties include adopting countywide ordinances, overseeing county operations and facilities, adopting the annual budget, (including all county departments), and making appointments to boards, committees, and commissions.

Board of commissioners meet 1st & 3rd Wed. 6:45 p.m., preceded by a Ways and Means committee meeting at 6:30 p.m. Working sessions 1st & 3rd Thurs. 6:30 p.m. All meetings at 220 N. Main; call (734) 222-6850 to confirm times. Meetings broadcast on CTN cable channel 16.

Building Inspection

705 N. Zeeb [map]
(734) 222-3900. Fax: (734) 222-3930

Building Inspection provides enforcement of the State Construction Code to ensure the minimum safety standards of building, mechanical, plumbing, and electrical systems in the village of Dexter and Augusta, Lodi, Saline, Scio, and Webster townships. Automated scheduling: (734) 222-3720.

Clerk/Register of Deeds

200 N. Main [map]
(734) 222-6700. Fax: (734) 222-6528

This combined office is headed by Lawrence Kestenbaum (D), an elected official whose four-year term expires Dec. 2016. He and his staff maintain official county records (births, deaths, marriages, divorces, military discharges, business names, concealed weapons permits, and board of commissioners records), monitor the conduct of elections, and keep all land ownership records for property in the county.

Environmental Health

705 N. Zeeb [map]
(734) 222-3800. Fax: (734) 222-3930

This division, led by Kristen Schweighoefer, is charged with protecting and improving the quality of the environment and the health of Washtenaw County citizens. A division of the Washtenaw County Public Health Department, Environmental Health conducts pollution prevention inspections, as well as inspections of food services, public swimming pools, day care centers, and body art facilities to ensure compliance with state codes and local ordinances. It also conducts soil evaluations and issues well and septic permits, coordinates the solid waste program and home toxics center, investigates housing complaints and environmentally related illnesses, (such as foodborne illness or lead poisoning), and provides environmental education.

Human Resources

220 N. Main [map]
(734) 222-6800. Fax: (734) 222-6775.

County job openings are posted in the first-floor lobby, and applications are available in the office; online applications are preferred. Go to and click on "Online Services" and "County Jobs" to view positions.


200 N. Main [map]
(734) 222-6620

The prosecuting attorney and assistants are responsible for criminal cases in the county that fall under state law. Prosecutor Brian Mackie (D), (, an elected official whose 4-year term expires Dec. 2016, is the chief law enforcement officer for the county. The prosecutor must authorize, in writing, any criminal prosecution. The prosecutor also enforces child support and handles juvenile court matters. For questions about child support, call (734) 222-6630. Advocates in the Victim/Witness Assistance Program (734) 222-6650 inform victims of their rights and the status of their cases.

Public Defender

220 E. Huron, 5th floor [map]
(734) 222-6970. Fax: (734) 222-6985

Chief public defender Lloyd Powell and his staff provide court-appointed legal counsel for adults, determined to be unable to pay for a lawyer, who are charged with felonies or misdemeanors and for juveniles charged with delinquencies or who are victims of neglect or abuse. The office also helps answer legal questions and works for crime prevention, justice, rehabilitation, reduced recidivism, and training and employment opportunities for persons subject to discrimination.

Road Commission

555 N. Zeeb [map]
(734) 761-1500. Fax: (734) 761-3737

The road commission and its staff, headed by chair Douglas Fuller, are responsible for providing a road system that is reasonably safe and convenient. All primary roads and most paved and gravel roads in the outlying areas of the county are maintained by road commission crews, who provide dust control, gravel road grading, snow removal, pavement resurfacing, storm drainage, and tree removal. Other services include road and bridge construction, sign and signal maintenance, pavement marking, and guardrail repairs. The commission does not maintain privately owned streets.,


2201 Hogback [map]
Emergency: call 911. Nonemergency: (734) 971-8400

Sheriff Jerry Clayton (D), an elected official whose four-year term expires Dec. 2016, enforces all criminal, civil, and traffic laws of the county and conducts investigations of unusual, violent, or accidental deaths. The sheriff executes the orders of the courts, arrests and detains accused offenders, manages the county jail facilities, and coordinates law enforcement activities of the county and state. For townships and villages in outlying areas that have contracted with the sheriff's office, it responds to calls for assistance and provides uniformed road patrols.


200 N. Main, ste. 200 [map]
(734) 222-6600. Fax: (734) 222-6632

County treasurer Catherine McClary (D), an elected official whose 4-year term expires Dec. 2016, is the custodian of all county funds and portfolio manager for the county's investments. She is responsible for receiving, depositing, and accounting for all county revenue and state education tax. Her office collects delinquent property taxes and assists people with financial hardships in paying their property taxes. It also certifies deeds and issues dog licenses for residents outside Ann Arbor.

Water Resources Commission

705 N. Zeeb [map]
(734) 222-6860. Fax: (734) 222-6803

Commissioner, Evan Pratt (, an elected official whose term expires Dec. 2016, coordinates storm-water management, develops strategies for flood and erosion control, and participates in the development of related storm-water and land-use policies, plans, and programs. The commissioner also conducts activities to protect the quality of storm drains and waterways; prepares special assessments for drains; maintains court-set lake levels and constructs and maintains associated facilities; establishes standards and reviews plans for storm drainage projects; manages and finances drain construction projects and watershed management plans; and educates the public on drain issues.

Related Topics:

Food Gatheres Grillin fundraiser 2016
Our Most Frequently Shared Pages: